How to fix lunch

imageA short and flavourful post today, just to let you know about my last-minute lunch fixings ( which, apparently, are daily worry for everyone of us ); today, after much fidgeting with a few cooking items all week long, I was determined to get a day free from cooking, or at least to get lazy as much as I could. Spring and its upsurging commitments always seem to take a toll on me, and I feel stronger than before the need to rest and be properly nourished to keep going. I’m sure you know this feeling… So, this sunday I decided to slow down a bit, taking as much as I could of this day for myself.

…however, apparently when I have a few moments alone and without much to do, I seem always to find new things to do, recipe to try, unaccomplished tasks that need my attention… This time, it was all about planting basil and thunbergias, nursing roses, preparing a batch of yellow cream for my mom’s straberry and cream tart… And of course, preparing lunch. Nothing thawed and eaten straight from the microwave for me, apparently, even on a – supposedly – lazy day: I couldn’t help but reach for a few items and make myself a quick, but satisfying salad; not exactly what you would expect on a spring-almost-summer day in Rome, but lately it has been a little bit colder than usual, so I deem myself justified, isnt’it?

image

Midseason Salad

Makes 1

2-3 baby potatoes
1 good-quality sausage, skinned
1 egg
A handful of mushrooms, thinly sliced
5 tbs olive oil
1 tbs maple syrup
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 thyme sprigs
1 tsp mustard
2 tbs white wine
Salt
Pepper

In a saucepan, place the potatoes and enough water to cover; then, heat over medium heat and bring to a boil; let it cook for 10-15 minutes or until the tip of a knife slides through easily. Drain the potatoes and let them cool a bit; then, skin them and set aside.

In a skillet, place 1 tbs olive oil and bring over medium heat; add the garlic and mushrooms and cook for 5 minutes, stirring; add the wine and cook for another couple of minutes; season with salt and pepper and set aside.
In the same skillet, place 1 tbs oil and heat over medium heat; add the sausage bits and let them cook and turn brown; add the maple syrup to the skillet and season with salt and pepper, and the thyme leaves. Set aside.

In a small saucepan, bring water to a boil and stir it around for a few seconds; then, add the egg and keep stirring for a few seconds more. Let it cook for about 5 minutes, then put the egg in ice-cold water to stop the cooking process. When the egg is cool enough to handle, peel it.

Whisk together the remaining oil, mustard, salt and pepper.
Mix together all the ingredients and toss with the mustard vinaigrette. Serve warm or at room temperature.

Leave a Reply

